Monday, June 11, 2007

Republicans Block Vote on Gonzales But Seven Vote with Dems

This afternoon, Virginia senators split on the issue of no-confidence against Attorney General Gonzales. Republican Sen. John Warner voted against the cloture motion but Sen. Jim Webb voted for it.

The ultimate roll call on the resolution was 53-38 with one senator abstaining. Sixty votes were required to move the nonbinding motion to the floor and ultimate vote. The motion picked up seven Republicans.

Oh yea, how could Howling Latina fail to point out? Turncoat Joe Lieberman voted no. But folks, this was no meaningless vote. There were seven missing votes: Biden (D-DE), Brownback (R-KS), Coburn (R-OK), Dodd (D-CT), Johnson (D-SD), McCain (R-AZ), Obama (D-IL). and this list includes at least three votes for cloture with a possible fourth and fifth one. Additionally, once Johnson returns, the motion would then only be one vote shy of the required 60 vote threshold.

Here's the roll call.
YEAs ---53
Akaka (D-HI) Baucus (D-MT) Bayh (D-IN) Bingaman (D-NM)Boxer (D-CA) Brown (D-OH) Byrd (D-WV) Cantwell (D-WA) Cardin (D-MD) Carper (D-DE) Casey
(D-PA) Clinton (D-NY) Coleman (R-MN) Collins (R-ME) Conrad (D-ND)Dorgan (D-ND) Durbin (D-IL) Feingold (D-WI) Feinstein (D-CA) Hagel (R-NE) Harkin (D-IA)Inouye (D-HI) Kennedy (D-MA) Kerry (D-MA) Klobuchar (D-MN) Kohl (D-WI)Landrieu (D-LA) Lautenberg (D-NJ) Leahy (D-VT) Levin (D-MI) Lincoln (D-AR)McCaskill (D-MO) Menendez (D-NJ) Mikulski (D-MD) Murray (D-WA) Nelson (D-FL) Nelson (D-NE) Pryor (D-AR) Reed (D-RI) Reid (D-NV) Rockefeller (D-WV)Salazar (D-CO) Sanders (I-VT) Schumer (D-NY) Smith (R-OR) Snowe (R-ME)Specter (R-PA) Stabenow (D-MI) Sununu (R-NH) Tester (D-MT) Webb (D-VA)Whitehouse (D-RI) Wyden (D-OR)

NAYs ---38
Alexander (R-TN) Allard (R-CO) Bennett (R-UT) Bond (R-MO) Bunning (R-KY) Burr (R-NC) Chambliss (R-GA) Cochran (R-MS) Corker (R-TN) Cornyn (R-TX) Craig (R-ID) Crapo (R-ID) DeMint (R-SC) Dole (R-NC) Domenici (R-NM) Ensign (R-NV) Enzi (R-WY) Graham (R-SC) Grassley (R-IA) Gregg (R-NH) Hatch (R-UT) Hutchison (R-TX) Inhofe (R-OK) Isakson (R-GA) Kyl (R-AZ) Lieberman (ID-CT) Lott (R-MS) Lugar (R-IN) Martinez (R-FL) McConnell (R-KY) Murkowski (R-AK) Roberts (R-KS) Sessions (R-AL) Shelby (R-AL) Thune (R-SD) Vitter (R-LA) Voinovich (R-OH) Warner (R-VA)

Present - 1
Stevens (R-AK)

Not Voting - 7
Biden (D-DE)Brownback (R-KS) Coburn (R-OK)Dodd (D-CT) Johnson (D-SD)McCain (R-AZ) Obama (D-IL
Interestingly, many of the Republicans voting for cloture are up for reelection in '08. Coleman (R-MN) Collins (R-ME) Hagel (R-NE) Smith (R-OR) and Sununu (R-NH). Snowe (R-ME) and Specter (R-PA) are not up for reelection, but also voted for cloture.

Senators who earlier professed no-confidence but voted for Gonzo anyway are: Roberts, Sessions, Graham, Bond, Grassley and Ensign.

Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?